Yunyi Dai

Yunyi Dai

(She/Her) • Los Angeles , USA

Engagez-moi

Biographie

Yunyi Dai est une illustratrice chinoise basée à Los Angeles. En tant que conteuse et solutionneuse visuelle, Yunyi est passionnée par la création d'illustrations éditoriales, d'illustrations de livres pour enfants, de Gifs illustrés et d'illustrations 3D. Son travail est rempli d'idées pleines d'esprit et de fantaisie dans des couleurs vives et audacieuses. Elle veut aider les gens à raconter leur histoire grâce à des solutions conceptuelles uniques.

Quelques clients


NPR Next Generation Radio, Wall Street Journal, Scientific American, Poetry Foundation, Green American Magazine, Bethesda Magazine, Current Magazine, Fashion Zoo Magazine, Audiation Premium Podcast Production, American University Radio, KUNR Public Radio, Capital Public Radio

Read more

Récompenses


  • 2022 Chosen Winner, American Illustration 41
  • 2022 Winner, Illustration Category, Applied Arts Awards
  • 2022 Winner, Illustration: Professional, Creative Quarterly 69
  • 2022 Honorable Mention, 3×3 International Illustration Show
  • 2022 Finalist, Young Ones ADC Awards
  • 2022 Short List, Hiii Illustration International Competition
  • 2022 Short List, Communication Arts Illustration
  • 2021 Short List, Communication Arts Illustration
  • 2021 Silver Award, 3×3 International Illustration Show
  • 2020 Merit Award, 3×3 International Illustration Show
  • 2019 New Talent Merit Award, iJungle Illustration Awards

Career Milestones


I have traveled across the United States since 2019 with NPR Next Generation Radio. As the Lead Project Illustrator, I created numerous banners, portraits, and editorial illustrations.

Read more

Yunyi Dai

Vos pronoms
Elle/Elle

Où est la maison ?
Je suis né et j’ai grandi à Shanghai, en Chine. Je vis aux États-Unis depuis l’âge de 14 ans. Au fil des ans, j’ai vécu à Portland, Baltimore et New York. Je suis actuellement basé à Los Angeles. J’ai toujours considéré Shanghai, Portland et Baltimore comme ma maison où j’avais de nombreux souvenirs précieux en grandissant.

Décrivez votre style d’illustration en une phrase
Je construis un monde fantastique avec des créatures, des paysages et des intérieurs fantaisistes, parfois avec une touche d’humour noir.

Qu’est-ce qui allume votre âme en feu ?
Je cherche l’inspiration à travers les films, les aventures du week-end, les voyages gastronomiques, les rêves, les musées et les conversations quotidiennes amusantes avec mes amis. J’ai deux chats qui s’appellent Cookie et Maki. Je les observe pour des idées de conception de personnages. Cela allume mon âme en sachant que je peux nourrir mes chats grâce à l’illustration.

Quels thèmes aimez-vous explorer dans vos illustrations ?
Mon amour pour la couleur a fait des enfants, des animaux, de la nourriture, de la nature, de la santé et du mode de vie mes thèmes préférés à illustrer. J’ai toujours été un grand fan de films d’horreur et de thriller. J’ai créé des illustrations avec des sujets sombres et étranges chaque année pendant la saison d’Halloween.

Quelles techniques utilisez-vous ?
Les principaux éléments de mon travail sont la psychologie des couleurs, les formes et la composition.
Je passe beaucoup de temps à réfléchir et à bloquer des formes et des valeurs en niveaux de gris avant de commencer un projet. J’adopte une méthode picturale dans le processus d’illustration. Mettre mes graphismes en mouvement ou construire des scènes ludiques en 3D sont mes techniques préférées pour activer l’histoire dans l’image.

Pour quoi voulez-vous être connu ?
Je veux être reconnu comme un bon conteur dans mon récit visuel et être reconnu pour mes solutions conceptuelles uniques. Je trouve important d’aider les autres à raconter leur histoire ainsi que la mienne.

Quels sont les projets qui vous passionnent le plus ?
Je suis très enthousiasmé par les projets avec des anecdotes personnelles uniques et des histoires avec de nouvelles informations pour en savoir plus sur le monde. Je suis le genre d’artiste qui n’arrive pas à se décider sur un fond d’écran pour mon ordinateur portable, donc je suis toujours ravi de relever de nouveaux défis et d’être inspiré.

Comment votre style a-t-il évolué depuis vos débuts ?
J’étais peintre avant d’apprendre l’illustration numérique. Quand j’ai commencé à illustrer, j’ai été influencé par des artistes au beau travail au trait fluide. Au fil du temps, j’ai appris à adopter pleinement le langage des formes dans mon travail tout en le combinant avec des couleurs vives et éclatantes.

Que trouvez-vous le plus difficile dans votre pratique ou dans l’industrie de l’illustration ?
L’industrie de l’illustration est en constante évolution. Le plus grand défi dans ma pratique est de trouver de nouvelles façons de percer de nouveaux territoires dans l’illustration. J’essaie d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences chaque année pour élargir mon portefeuille. L’année dernière, j’ai appris à créer des GIF illustrés pour mettre mes images en mouvement. Cette année, j’ai appris à modéliser mes concepts en 3D et à ajouter une autre dimension à mon travail. Je pense qu’il est important de se mettre au défi d’apprendre de nouvelles techniques chaque année.

Citez un outil dont vous ne pouvez pas vous passer !
Mon premier outil d’art était Elmer’s Liquid Glitter Glue. J’en ai fait un gros gâchis. De nos jours, je ne peux pas vivre sans un crayon et un cahier – dessiner une carte mentale avec des griffonnages pour la conceptualisation avant de commencer un projet a été une partie cruciale de mon processus.

Parlez-nous d’un projet sur lequel vous avez travaillé et qui a eu du sens pour vous en tant qu’artiste.
« Yes, Mother » a été la première série d’illustrations que j’ai créées pour moi-même. Dans un manoir gothique peu éclairé rempli de salles d’apparitions étranges et de meubles sinistres, une jeune enfant raconte des histoires troublantes de sa vie quotidienne. Chaque illustration dépeint les traumatismes psychologiques et les angoisses que j’ai vécus quand j’étais enfant. Grandir est une chose effrayante. Le projet était une histoire personnelle que j’ai apportée au monde, dans l’espoir de sensibiliser les enfants qui subissent des abus émotionnels et physiques.

Pourquoi pensez-vous que l’art parle plus fort que les mots ?
L’art est une forme d’expression vulnérable et puissante. Il peut capturer et élever instantanément le summum d’une histoire avant que les photos et les mots ne le fassent.

Illustrer l’avenir

Nous travaillons avec les créatifs les plus brillants et les plus visionnaires du monde pour donner vie aux concepts les plus audacieux.

Découvrez tous nos artistes
Styles
Artistes

Yunyi Dai

Yunyi Dai

(She/Her) • Los Angeles , USA

Biography

Yunyi Dai is a Chinese illustrator based in Los Angeles. As a storyteller and a visual solver, Yunyi is passionate about creating Editorial Illustrations, Children’s Book Illustrations, Illustrated Gifs, and 3D Illustrations. Her work is full of witty, whimsical ideas in bright, bold colors. She wants to help people tell their stories through unique conceptual solutions.

Selected clients


NPR Next Generation Radio, Wall Street Journal, Scientific American, Poetry Foundation, Green American Magazine, Bethesda Magazine, Current Magazine, Fashion Zoo Magazine, Audiation Premium Podcast Production, American University Radio, KUNR Public Radio, Capital Public Radio

Read more

Awards


  • 2022 Chosen Winner, American Illustration 41
  • 2022 Winner, Illustration Category, Applied Arts Awards
  • 2022 Winner, Illustration: Professional, Creative Quarterly 69
  • 2022 Honorable Mention, 3×3 International Illustration Show
  • 2022 Finalist, Young Ones ADC Awards
  • 2022 Short List, Hiii Illustration International Competition
  • 2022 Short List, Communication Arts Illustration
  • 2021 Short List, Communication Arts Illustration
  • 2021 Silver Award, 3×3 International Illustration Show
  • 2020 Merit Award, 3×3 International Illustration Show
  • 2019 New Talent Merit Award, iJungle Illustration Awards

Career Milestones


I have traveled across the United States since 2019 with NPR Next Generation Radio. As the Lead Project Illustrator, I created numerous banners, portraits, and editorial illustrations.

Read more

Yunyi Dai

Your Pronouns
She/Her

Where is home?
I was born and raised in Shanghai, China. I have been living in the United States since I was 14. Over the years, I have lived in Portland, Baltimore, and New York City. I am currently based in Los Angeles. I have always considered Shanghai, Portland, and Baltimore my home where I had many precious memories growing up.

Describe your illustration style in one sentence
I build a world of fantasy with whimsical creatures, landscapes, and interiors, sometimes with a splash of dark humor.

What lights your soul on fire?
I seek inspiration through movies, weekend adventures, food traveling, dreams, museums, and fun everyday conversations with my friends. I have two cats named Cookie and Maki. I observe them for character design ideas. It lights my soul on fire knowing that I can feed my cats through illustration.

What themes do you enjoy exploring in your illustrations?
My love for color has made children, animals, food, nature, health, and lifestyle my favorite themes to illustrate. I have always been a big horror and thriller movie fan. I have been creating illustrations with dark and eerie subject matter every year during the Halloween season.

What techniques do you use?
The main elements in my work are color psychology, shapes, and composition.
I spend a lot of time brainstorming and blocking out shapes and values in grayscale before beginning a project. I embrace a painterly method in the process of illustration. Putting my graphics into motion or building playful scenes in 3D are my favorite techniques to activate the story in the picture.

What do you want to be known for?
I want to be known as a good storyteller in my visual narrative and to be recognized for my unique conceptual solutions. I find it meaningful to help others tell their stories as well as my own.

Which projects excite you most?
I am most excited by projects with unique personal anecdotes and stories with new information to learn about the world. I am the type of artist who cannot decide on a wallpaper for my laptop, so I am always thrilled to take on new challenges and be inspired.

How has your style evolved since you started?
I was a painter before I learned digital illustration. When I started illustrating, I was influenced by artists with beautiful fluid line work. Over time, I have learned to fully embrace the shape language in my work while combining it with vibrant clashing colors.

What do you find most challenging in your practice or in the illustration industry?
The illustration industry is constantly evolving. The biggest challenge in my practice is finding new ways to break new territory in illustration. I try to learn a new skill set every year to expand my portfolio. Last year I learned how to make illustrated GIFs to bring my pictures into motion. This year I learned how to 3D model my concepts and add another dimension to my work. I think it is important to challenge oneself to learn new techniques every year.

Name a tool you can’t live without!
My first art tool was Elmer’s Liquid Glitter Glue. I made a great mess out of it. Nowadays, I cannot live without a pencil, and a notebook — drawing a mind map with doodles for conceptualization before starting a project has been a crucial part of my process.

Tell us about a project you worked on that was meaningful to you as an artist.
“Yes, Mother” was the first series of illustrations I created for myself. In a sparsely lit gothic mansion filled with rooms of strange apparitions and sinister furnishings, a young child tells unsettling stories of her everyday life. Each illustration depicts the psychological traumas and anxieties I experienced as a kid. Growing up is a scary thing. The project was a personal story I brought to the world, hoping to raise awareness for children who experience emotional and physical abuse.

Why do you think art speaks louder than words?
Art is a vulnerable and powerful form of expression. It can instantly capture and elevate the pinnacle of a story before photos and words do.

Illustrating the future

We work with the world's most brilliant and visionary creatives to bring the boldest concepts to life.

Discover all our artists
Styles
Artists