Mai Ly Degnan

Mai Ly Degnan

(She/Her/Hers) • Baltimore, USA

Engagez-moi

Biographie

Mai Ly Degnan est une illustratrice et éducatrice américaine d'origine asiatique basée à Baltimore, dans le Maryland. Mai Ly a obtenu un BFA en illustration au Savannah College of Art and Design, ainsi qu'un MFA en pratique de l'illustration au Maryland Institute College of Art, où elle enseigne actuellement. Le travail de Mai Ly se compose de couleurs vives, de détails à motifs, d'un travail au trait fastidieux et de personnages stylisés et ludiques. Mai Ly est passionnée par l'illustration pour tous. Elle aime créer des illustrations accessibles en mettant en scène des personnes dans des situations quotidiennes familières, toujours avec une légère touche d'humour.

Read more

Quelques clients


Cosmopolitan UK, Norman Rockwell Museum, Harper Collins, Quarto Kids, Alba Editorial, Magic Cat Publishing, Compound Butter Magazine, Vans Girls, American Way Magazine, Kiplinger’s, Time Magazine, Brigitte Magazine, Chronicle Books, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Bust Magazine, Lenny Letter, Baltimore City Paper, VICE Magazine, NPR, Frankie Magazine, The Bark Magazine, La Guarimba International Film Festival, La La Land Australia

Read more

Récompenses


  • Society of Illustrators 62, 2020
  • Society of Illustrators 61, 2019
  • 3×3 Show No. 16, 2019
  • American Illustration 38, 2019
  • American Illustration 36, 2017
  • 3×3 Show No. 14, 2017
  • American Illustration 35, 2016
  • 3×3 Show No. 13, 2016
  • 3×3 No. 12, 2015
  • Society of Illustrators 57, 2014
  • 3×3 No. 11, 2014
  • American Illustration International Motion Arts, 2014
  • Puchon International Student Animation Festival, 2014
  • MICA Animation Festival 2014
  • Society of Illustrators Student Competition 54, 2012
  • Society of Illustrators LA, Student Competition 54, 2012

Mai Ly Degnan

Vos pronoms :
Elle, elle

Comment définissez-vous votre identité ? Vous identifiez-vous à (ou défendez-vous) des communautés marginalisées ?
Je suis à moitié vietnamien. Je me considère comme américain d’origine asiatique et je m’identifie à la communauté AAPI

Où est la maison ?
Baltimore, Maryland

Décrivez votre style en une phrase :
Mon travail se compose de couleurs vives, de détails à motifs, de lignes fastidieuses et de personnages stylisés de manière ludique.

Qu’est-ce qui allume votre âme en feu ?
Je suis super passionnée par l’enseignement de l’illustration et le travail avec les étudiants. En plus d’être indépendant, j’enseigne également à temps plein dans le cadre du programme d’études supérieures MFA Illustration Practice au Maryland Institute College of Art (mon sujet d’alma). J’aime travailler avec des étudiants en illustration, surtout parce que j’aime voir quand ils grandissent et explorer leurs styles. Il n’y a rien de mieux que de voir les étudiants s’enthousiasmer pour le travail qu’ils font. Chaque étudiant est si unique et différent et je me sens si chanceux d’avoir l’opportunité de les aider dans leurs voyages d’illustration.

Quels thèmes aimez-vous explorer ?
J’aime dessiner des illustrations de style de vie, illustrer des émotions, des moments de tous les jours et célébrer des personnages féminins forts. J’aime aussi ajouter de l’humour à mon travail chaque fois que j’en ai l’occasion.

Quelles techniques utilisez-vous ?
J’utilise une combinaison de techniques analogiques et numériques. Je dessine à la main toutes mes lignes à l’encre à l’aide d’un petit stylo micron, j’ajoute de l’ombrage et du graphite, puis je numérise et ajoute de la couleur numériquement.

Quelle part de vous-même et de votre propre histoire pouvons-nous voir dans votre travail ?
Je pense que je mets beaucoup de moi-même dans mon travail, surtout quand je crée des œuvres personnelles. Je vais prendre des pensées et des sentiments que j’ai eus tout au long de la journée et les revivre avec de nouveaux personnages dans mes illustrations. Cela peut être n’importe quoi, d’un animal de compagnie ennuyeux, d’anciens amis méchants, à l’achat de trop de plantes, ou même si ce ne sont que des moments d’ennui, j’essaie toujours de créer des illustrations amusantes et relatables, et presque toujours elles proviennent de moments et de pensées personnels J’ai eu moi-même.

Y a-t-il un fil conducteur dans votre travail créatif ?
J’adore dessiner des gens qui font des choses de tous les jours. C’est une façon de célébrer le banal et de trouver des moments de beauté et de joie dans des choses qui sont souvent négligées.

pour quoi voulez-vous être connu ?
Je veux être connu pour être une bonne personne pour mes amis et ma famille, et pour être un professeur qui soutient et aide mes étudiants.

Quels sont les projets qui vous passionnent le plus ?
Chaque fois que je dessine des gens dans leur environnement quotidien, je suis vraiment excité. J’adore rechercher un personnage et un lieu, et je m’amuse tellement à travailler dur pour lui donner vie. L’un de mes projets préférés de tous les temps était de dessiner une garderie ouverte 24 heures sur 24, où je devais dessiner une garderie et différents moments de la journée, le tout dans une seule image. C’était un dessin super difficile avec tant de petits détails, mais c’était quand même un projet vraiment amusant parce que tous les personnages et interactions que j’ai dû créer.

Quel est votre concert de rêve ?
Mon job de rêve serait un jour d’écrire et d’illustrer mon propre livre pour enfants. J’ai déjà illustré des livres, mais je n’en ai jamais écrit moi-même. J’adorerais ce défi un jour. J’aime aussi la conception de surface et j’adorerais faire plus de projets de cartes de vœux et de licences de modèles.

Où, quand et comment créez-vous le mieux ?
Je suis définitivement un oiseau de nuit. Les nuits tardives en studio sont probablement les moments où je crée mon meilleur travail.

Comment votre style a-t-il évolué depuis vos débuts ?
Mon style a définitivement évolué depuis que j’ai commencé à illustrer.

Que trouvez-vous le plus difficile dans votre pratique ou dans l’industrie ?
L’une des compétences les plus importantes qu’un illustrateur puisse avoir est d’être flexible et capable de s’adapter efficacement à un nouveau type d’invite ou de délai. Pouvoir travailler et être ouvert

Comment le fait d’être illustratrice a changé votre vie ?
Être illustratrice a changé ma vie parce que j’adore mon métier, aussi bien lorsque je suis freelance que lorsque j’enseigne l’illustration. Cela ne devient jamais ennuyeux et c’était tellement merveilleux de voir vos œuvres d’art dans le monde réel. J’ai tellement de chance d’avoir trouvé l’illustration comme carrière, car peu importe le projet stimulant que je reçois, j’aime toujours le processus et trouver des moyens de résoudre visuellement les problèmes.

Citez un outil dont vous ne pouvez pas vous passer !
Mon stylo .005 Micron.

Parlez-nous d’un projet sur lequel vous avez travaillé et qui a eu du sens pour vous en tant qu’artiste.
L’un des projets les plus significatifs sur lesquels j’ai travaillé est le livre de Martin Luther King Jr. pour la série Little People Big Dreams. J’étais tellement fan de la série pendant des années avant qu’on me demande d’illustrer un livre. C’était certainement l’un des projets d’illustration les plus importants que j’aie jamais réalisés. C’était mon premier travail d’illustration de livres pour enfants, et non seulement j’étais tellement excitée d’être invitée, mais je me sentais particulièrement honorée d’avoir pu être jumelée au Dr Martin Luther King. J’ai adoré ce projet non seulement parce que livre parce que c’est

Que diriez-vous à votre jeune moi ?
Continuez à suivre votre instinct ! Avant de passer en école d’art, j’étais en prémédecine. À l’époque, j’étais très nerveux au moment où j’ai changé de carrière, mais c’était certainement l’une des meilleures décisions que j’ai jamais prises.

Pourquoi pensez-vous que l’art parle plus fort que les mots ?
L’art parle plus fort que les mots parce que c’était la capacité de plaire à toutes sortes de personnes, quels que soient les mots que les gens lisent ou la langue qu’ils parlent. L’art a la capacité de créer et de communiquer des émotions, des humeurs, des histoires et des idées.

Illustrer l’avenir

Nous travaillons avec les créatifs les plus brillants et les plus visionnaires du monde pour donner vie aux concepts les plus audacieux.

Découvrez tous nos artistes
Styles
Artistes

Mai Ly Degnan

Mai Ly Degnan

(She/Her/Hers) • Baltimore, USA

Biography Interview

Mai Ly Degnan is an illustrator and educator based in Baltimore, MD. Her work consists of bold colors, patterned details, and “slice of life” illustrations that celebrate everyday people in their daily lives. Her work has been recognized by The Society of Illustrators of New York and Los Angeles, American Illustration, and 3x3.

Selected clients


Cosmopolitan UK, Norman Rockwell Museum, Harper Collins, Quarto Kids, Alba Editorial, Magic Cat Publishing, Compound Butter Magazine, Vans Girls, American Way Magazine, Kiplinger’s, Time Magazine, Brigitte Magazine, Chronicle Books, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Bust Magazine, Lenny Letter, Baltimore City Paper, VICE Magazine, NPR, Frankie Magazine, The Bark Magazine, La Guarimba International Film Festival, La La Land Australia

Read more

Awards


  • Society of Illustrators 62, 2020
  • Society of Illustrators 61, 2019
  • 3×3 Show No. 16, 2019
  • American Illustration 38, 2019
  • American Illustration 36, 2017
  • 3×3 Show No. 14, 2017
  • American Illustration 35, 2016
  • 3×3 Show No. 13, 2016
  • 3×3 No. 12, 2015
  • Society of Illustrators 57, 2014
  • 3×3 No. 11, 2014
  • American Illustration International Motion Arts, 2014
  • Puchon International Student Animation Festival, 2014
  • MICA Animation Festival 2014
  • Society of Illustrators Student Competition 54, 2012
  • Society of Illustrators LA, Student Competition 54, 2012

Mai Ly Degnan in the Spotlight


Mai Ly Degnan

Your pronouns:
She, her

How do you define your identity? Do you identify with (or advocate for) any marginalized communities?
I am half Vietnamese. I consider myself asian American, and identify with the AAPI community

Where is home?
Baltimore, Maryland

Describe your illustration style in one sentence
My illustration style consists of bright colors, is full of linework, and playfully stylized characters in every situations.

What lights your soul on fire?
I am super passionate about teaching illustration and working with students. In addition to freelancing, I also teach full-time in the graduate MFA Illustration Practice program at the Maryland Institute College of Art (my alma matter). I love working with illustration students, especially because I love getting to see when they grow and explore their styles. There is nothing better than watching students get excited about the work they make. Each student is so unique and different and I feel so lucky I get opportunity to help them on their illustration journeys.

What themes do you enjoy exploring in your illustrations?
I love drawing people in everyday scenarios and finding moments of beauty and joy in things that often get overlooked. Because of this, I often find myself creating illustrations that celebrate strong female characters, body positivity, diversity, and finding ways to capture emotional connections between characters.

What techniques do you use?
I use a combination of analog and digital techniques. I hand draw all my lines in ink using a small micron pen, add shading in and graphite, and then will scan and add color digitally.

How much of yourself and your own story can we see in your work?
I think I put a lot of myself in my work, especially when I am creating personal work. I will take thoughts and feelings I’ve had throughout the day, and relive them with new characters in my illustrations. This can be anything from an annoying pet, mean ex friends, to buying too many plants, or even if its just moments of boredom, I always try to create illustrations that are fun and relatable, and almost always they come from personal moment’s and thoughts I’ve had myself.

Is there an unmistakable thread in your creative work?
I love drawing people doing everyday things. Its a way of celebrating the mundane, and finding moments of beauty and joy in things that often get overlooked.

hat do you want to be known for?
I want to be known for being a good person to my friends and family, and being a supportive and helpful professor to my students.

Which projects excite you most?
Anytime I get to draw people in their everyday environments, I get really excited. I love researching a character and a place, and I have so much fun working hard to bring it to life. One of my all time favorite projects was to draw a 24 hour day care, where I had to draw a daycare, and different moments throughout the day all in one image. It was a super challenging drawing so many little details, but it was still a really fun project because all the characters and interactions I had to come up with.

What is your dream gig?
My dream gig would one day be to both write and illustrate my own children’s book. I’ve illustrated books before, but I have never written one on my own. I would love that challenge one day. I also love surface design, and would adore to do more greeting card and pattern licensing projects.

Where, when and how do you best create?
I am a definite night owl. Late nights in the studio is probably when I create my best work.

How has your style evolved since you started?
My style has definitely evolved since I started illustrating.

What do you find most challenging in your practice or in the illustration industry?
One of the most important but challenging parts of this industry is being open to flexibility and being able to balance multiple illustration projects at the same time. This is especially true as so many of us freelance and work with different art directors, projects and prompts, all with varying turnaround times. Its so important to be confident in your process while at the same time knowing how to stay organized and balance your time efficiently.

How as being an illustrator changed your life?
Being an illustrator has changed my life because I absolutely love my job, both when I freelance and when I teach illustration. It never gets boring, and it was feels so wonderful when you get to see your artwork out in the real world. I am so lucky that I found illustration as a career because no matter what challenging project I get, I always love the process and finding ways to visually problem solve.

Name a tool you can’t live without!
My .005 Micron pen.

Tell us about a project you worked on that was meaningful to you as an artist.
One of the most meaningful projects I’ve worked on was the Martin Luther King Jr. book for the Little People Big Dreams series. I was such a fan of the series for years before being asked to illustrate a book. It was definitely one of the most important illustration projects I’ve ever done. It was my first children’s book illustration job ever, and not only was I just so excited to be asked, but I felt especially so honored that I got to be paired to Dr. Martin Luther King. I loved that project not only because book because its

What would you tell your younger self?
Keep following your gut! Before transferring to art school, I was on a premed track. Back then I was very nervous at the time when I made a career change, but it was definitely one of the best decision I’ve ever made.

Why do you think art speaks louder than words?
Art speaks louder than words because it was the ability to appeal to all kinds of people, regardless of the words people read or the language they speak. Art has the capability of creating and communicating emotion, mood, story, and ideas.

Illustrating the future

We work with the world's most brilliant and visionary creatives to bring the boldest concepts to life.

Discover all our artists
Styles
Artists